A to Z Departments/Programs About USD 373 Bond Information Board of Education Business Services Calendars Communications Facilities and Maintenance Human Services Maps Special Education
Athletics & Activities Department Admission Prices Athletic Hall of Fame Concussion Resources Contact Information Forms Frequently Asked Questions Maps Online Pay for Participation Instructions Event Calendars Sports Physicals/Clinics Summer Camps & Leagues Twitter Fall Sports Winter Sports Spring Sports Event Updates
Community Resources NHS Alumni & Reunion Information NHS Distinguished Alumni Award Education Endowment Health & Wellness Every Vote Counts Friends of Education Volunteer Information
Apply Human Services
Parent & Student Resources Closings & Cancellations Notification System SAFE SCHOOLS Curriculum District Calendars Enrollment Information Fee Payment Information Food Service & Meal Menus Health Services Health & Wellness for Students Infinite Campus Latchkey McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act Parenting Classes RevTrak Online Payments Parent & Student Handbooks SMART Backpacks Transportation
All Schools School Hours Cooper Early Ed Center Northridge Elementary Slate Creek Elementary South Breeze Elementary Sunset Elementary Walton Rural Life Center Santa Fe 5/6 Center Chisholm Middle School Newton High School Newton Career & Technical Education Center Harvey County Learning Center Project SEARCH Railer Academy & Virtual Program
Staff Resources Blocked Sites Review Education Endowment Grants Employee Service Portal ETC Helpdesk Portal Google Mail USD 373 Health & Wellness Infinite Campus Staff Portal Instructional Services Maintenance Service Request MY LEARNING PLAN Railer Recognition Nomination Form Railer Recognition Nominees Recycling Guide Staff Training Technology - ETC Tech Integration Weather/Cancellation Days for USD 373 Employees Whom to Call District Office Directory Staff Safety Documents New Kansas Income Tax Tables School Loop Resources

NHS Distinguished Alumni Award

The Central Kansas Community Foundation-USD 373 Education Endowment invites you to nominate an alumnus of Newton High School for the NHS Distinguished Alumni Award.

The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding alumni of Newton High School who have distinguished themselves in a significant way since graduating from high school. It may be someone who has had a highly successful career, or has been an outstanding community leader, or has a commendable record of service to others.

Newton High School has produced a number of outstanding graduates over the years and this award program recognizes their efforts. These alumni also serve as an inspiration for current NHS students, as they strive to create their own personal and professional roles in our community, state, nation and world.

Recipients will be inducted during a reception in their honor in conjunction with NHS commencement activities in May. Recipients’ names will also be added to the NHS Alumni Wall of Fame, located inside the new main entrance to Newton High School.

Please complete a nomination form to recognize an alumnus for this award

The deadline for the 2018 Distinguished Alumni Award is March 1, 2018.

Past Recipients

Distinguished Alumni Award Winners

Year Nominee Class of
2006 Phil Anderson III 1951
2006 Darrin Friesen 1985
2006 Theodore Ice 1952
2006 Todd Kruse 1984
2006 David Nygaard 1966
2006 Loyette Polhans Olson 1950
2007 Walter C. Claassen 1935
2007 Beverly Hanson Gering 1950
2008 Vice Admiral Michael K. Loose 1971
2008 Randall E. Mathews 1965
2008 Stephen J. Shields 1974
2009 Shelly Dicken Chenoweth 1983
2009 Jeremy Hubbard 1991
2009 Dr. Robert Rich 1958
2009 William Staerkel 1938
2009 Dr. Matthew Stagner 1977
2010 Dr. Shanalyn Kiger Kemme 1980
2010 Dr. Clayton Koppes 1963
2010 Mary E. Snapp, JD 1971
2010 Dr. Janine Wedel 1975
2011 Pat Torline Baker 1965
2011 Richard McCall 1949
2011 Brian Walker 1982
2012 Lori Adrian Magruder 1990
2012 Leo McGee 1946
2012 Jennifer Unruh Rewkowski 1992
2013 Barbara Stauth Burns 1969
2013 Judge Richard Walker 1966
2014 Susan Griffith Agel 1972
2014 Richard Atkinson 1979
2014 Dr. Bill Brainard 1952
2014 Gregory M. Friesen 1975
2014 Bill Lienhard 1948
2015 No Alumni recognized in 2015  
2016 Midge Werner Carroll 1955
2016 Stanley Claassen  1961
2016 Scott Phillips 1990
2016 Dr. Bryan H. Reber 1977
2017 Dr. Charles Craig 1963
2017 Sarah Morris Masem 1996
2017 Vernon "Reid" Rickman 1947