Skip to main content


Newton School District Top For CTE Scholars
Posted 4/22/19

Newton (Kan.)—The Kansas State Department announced its CTE Scholars on Tuesday, April 16. Newton School District’s Career and Technical Education (CTE) students made up 12 of the 39 scholars. Newton Schools had the most scholars in Kansas and almost one-third of the list. The student’s awarded were Jessica Floerke, Jonathan Fowler, Nicholas Koehn, Josh McClure, Faye Smith, Kaitlyn Black, Matthew Eldridge, Tristan Meyer, Reid Graber, Hannah Becker, Kori Roberson, and Alexandra Murray.

“This award recognizes the efforts of our CTE students in the classroom, in their community service and in leadership,” CTE Director and Newton High School Assistant Principal Melinda Rangel said. “I am very proud of the work our 12 students have done in these areas and the positive role models they are for the Newton High School CTE program.”

The Kansas CTE Scholar program recognizes well-rounded outstanding students who are finishing their senior year. They must meet these criteria:

  • Have earned or presently enrolled in 3.0 or more CTE credits
  • Provide documentation of technical skill attainment
  • Have a CTE Grade Point Average (GPA) of 3.5 or better in CTE coursework
  • Demonstrated leadership
  • Demonstrated community engagement
  • Have professional learning experiences
  • Provide a career vision summary statement

The Newton High School Career and Technical Education program currently has 17 pathways. These vary from manufacturing to engineering to health science. Students may receive free or discounted college credit for the courses they take in the program. They also have the opportunity for hands-on experience and internships in the community.

“Our program helps to set students up for their future,” Rangel said. “We want to give our students the tools they need to begin a career, go to college or enter a trade school. We want to best prepare our students for wherever their path leads them.”

Scholars will receive a commemorative pin, special certificate and statewide recognition.